2023 Start of Season Blitz Results

Softball Ulster hosted 12 teams for the Start of Season Blitz on April 23 at Hydebank Playing Fields. The tournament began with a morning round-robin session in groups, followed by afternoon games for final placement BSC2, one of Belfast Softball Club’s entries, won the blitz by beating another of the club’s entries, BSC1, with a score of 14-11 in the first-place game. The tournament’s women’s and men’s MVPs were Lauren from the Belfast Sliders and Kleiver from the Bangor Buccanneers, respectively.

Blitz winners BSC2.

The final standings for the blitz were as follows:

1BSC2 (Belfast Softball Club)
2BSC1 (Belfast Softball Club)
3Belfast Cubs
4Average Joes (Softball Leinster)
5Belfast Sliders
6BSC3 (Belfast Softball Club)
7Lisburn Hawks (Lisburn Softball Club)
8Bangor Buccanneers (North Down Softball Club)
9Belfast Angels
10Newtownabbey Phoenix
11Bangor Barracudas (North Down Softball Club)
12Lisburn Eagles (Lisburn Softball Club)

During the blitz, the Newtownabbey Phoenix, Softball Ulster’s newest team, played their first competitive matches and earned their first win as a club. Additionally, the Softball Leinster team Average Joes traveled from Dublin to participate in the blitz.

Softball Ulster players enjoy ice cream during the blitz.